top of page

What is Root Chakra?

Updated: Mar 27, 2020

What is Chakra?

Chakra in Sanskrit means "wheel", there are 7 chakras in our body, which align from the bottom of the spine to the crown of the head. They are invisible in our subtle body. These spinning wheels of energy keep us healthy and alive.

What is Root Chakra?

Root Chakra is a first chakra which is located bottom of the spine, also called Muladhara translates to "foundation" in Sanskrit, its associated with the element of earth and represented in red color, shaped four petals lotus, each petal come with different meaning, which are Manas(mind),Buddhi(intellect), Chitta(Consciousness) and Ahamkara(ego). When root chakra is active, we feel grounded, stability and supported, when it's imbalance, we feel fear, worry, over thinking or experience a sense of disconnection from everything and everyone.

How to active Root Chakra?


1. Sit with any meditation pose, which is Padmasana(Lotus Pose), Sukhasana(Easy Pose), Virasana(Hero Pose) or on the chair feet on the ground.

2. Gently close your eye, take a few deep breaths.

3. Vizualize a red-light ball surrounding your root chakra and dissolve your musky energy with the bright red color.

4. Use affirmation to reset your pattern in your unconscious mind, as






5. Start to take a deep inhale and exhale chant L-a-mmmmm for 3 times, feel the vibration and sound to generate a cleansing power.


Index finger and thumb join together, rest your hands on knees and palms facing up.


10 yoga poses to awakening Root Chakra :

1. Balasana - Child Pose

2. Malasana - Yogi Squad

3. Tadasana - Mountain

4. Paschimottanasana - Seated Forward Fold

5. Virabhadrasana I-III - Warrior 1-3

6. Utkatasana - Chair

7. Garudasana - Eagle

8. Adho Mukha Svanasana - Downward Facing Dog

9. Salamba Bhujangasana - Sphinx

10. Salabhasana - Locust


1. Kumbhaka Pranayama with mulabandha

Root Chakra is our 1 st chakra in position, it's very important to have it balance, after we active the root chakra will be easy to open our 2nd chakra which is Sacral Chakra, check out my following post to align your next chakra! In addition, check out our Root Chakra and Mudra in Channel.

Namaste :)

Related post

20 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All


Yoga With Hammer
Yoga With Hammer
Oct 21, 2021

You are welcome:)


Thanks for writing tthis

bottom of page